#NigeriaTransitions: Actors & Processes

 In CPPA Archives, Executive Branch, Governance & Political Economy, Thinking Aloud

The first-ever democratic power transfer between political parties is underway in Nigeria and CPPA is watching closely.  A quick look at the processes and actors:

Timeline of Transition Activities:

April 13: President Jonathan inaugurates his 15-man transition committee.  See below for members of the committee.

April 29: President-Elect Muhammadu Buhari announces his 19-man transition committee.  See below for members of the committee.

April 23: Members of the Presidential Inauguration Committee are announced.  Co-chaired by Pius Anyim (out-going government) and Timipre Sylva (in-coming government) comprises of 13 members each from the out-going and in-coming governments.

May 29: Formal inauguration ceremony.

Members of Jonathan’s Transition Committee

Terms of Reference

1. Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) – Anyim Pius Anyim (Chairman)

2. Minister of Finance and Co-ordinating Minister of the economy – Dr. Ngozi Okonjo- Iweala

3. Attorney-General of the Federation – Mr Mohammed Adoke

4. Minister of state for Finance Nigeria – Ambassador Bashir Yuguda

5. Head of service – Danladi Kifasi

6. AMCON – Chike Obi

7. DG BPE – Benjamin Ezra Dikki8. Executive Secretary TETFUND – Prof Suleiman Bogoro

9. DG BPP – Engr. Emeka Ezeh,

10. DG – NAFDAC – Paul Orhii

11. MD Nigeria Export Processing Zones Authority(NEPZA) – Mr. Gbenga Kuye

12. MD Nimasa – Ziakede Patrick Akpobolokemi,

13. Ministers of Police Affairs – Jelil Adesiyan

14. Ministers of  Transport-  Idris Umar

15. Minister of Niger Delta Affairs – Dr Stephen Oru

Collate relevant information for the handover briefs from all Ministries, Departments, and Agencies (MDAs), prepare them, and interface with the incoming administration’s transition committee.
Members of Buhari’s Transition Committee
Terms of Reference
Mal. Ahmed Joda – Chairman

Dr Doyin Salami – Vice-Chairman

Mr Boss Mustapha

Mal. Muhammad Hayatuddin

Alh. Abubakar Malami, SAN

Brig. Gen. Lawal Jafaru Isa

Sen. Hadi Sirika

Sen. Audu Ogbeh

Barrister Dalong

Mrs Bola Adesola

Mr Wale Edun

Mrs Nike Aboderin

Dr Ogbonnaya Onu

Mr Festus Odimegwu

Chief John Oyegun

Gov. Rotimi Amaechi

Dr Tam David West

Alh.Lai Mohammed

Mal Adamu Adamu – Secretary

a. To develop a clear framework for liaison with the out-going Administration for purposes of a smooth hand-over/take-over.b. To receive hand-over documents from Ministries, Departments and Agencies and itemise the most important or most urgent issues confronting the in-coming government.c. To review and preliminarily assess of the balance sheet of government with particular emphasis on:

  • The status of assets and liabilities of government.
  • Cash flow position of the government.
  • Quantum of public domestic and external debt of government and their deployment.
  • Government’s out-standing contractual obligations and its ability to meet such obligations.
  • Status of implementation of capital projects.

c. Under-take a preliminary assessment of the security challenges facing the country and the:

  • Counter-insurgency measures taken by the government thus far.
  • Counter policy measures being implemented in the Niger Delta to deal with unrest and major economic crimes in the area. In particular, the status of the Amnesty Programme.
  • Readiness of the Police and other national security and intelligence agencies in addressing threats to law and order.

d. Provide a brief over-view of CBN, NNPC, NCC, Customs and FIRS.

e. Suggest “quick fixes” which will result in tangible, visible and practical measures so that CHANGE will be seen after 30 days, after 100 days, after 6 months of the Administration taking office.

f. Make any other observation which in view of the Committee would be helpful to the transition and take-off of the new Administration.

g. Report back to the President-elect in two weeks.

Recent Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search