President Buhari Swears in His Cabinet

 In CPPA Archives, Governance & Political Economy

Over seven months after he was elected, President Buhari has finally sworn in his cabinet. Buhari reduced the total number of ministries from 29 to 24, and ministers from 42 to 36, scrapping some ministries and merging others.  Below is a list of the ministers along with their designated portfolios, as well as a list of scraped/merged ministries and a quick geopolitical analysis of the ministerial picks.

S/N Name Portfolio State of Origin REGION
1. Abubakar Malami, SAN Ministry of Justice Kebbi NW
2. Geoffrey Onyema Ministry of Foreign Affairs Enugu SE
3. Khadija Bukar Abba Ibrahim State, Ministry of Foreign Affairs Yobe NE
4. Mansur Dan Alli Ministry of Defence Zamfara NW
5. Adamu Adamu Ministry of Education Bauchi NE
6. Prof. Anthony Onwuka State, Ministry of Education Imo SE
7. Kemi Adeosun Ministry of Finance Ogun SW
8. Okechukwu Enelama Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment Abia SE
9. Aisha Abubakar State, Min. of Industry, Trade and Investment Sokoto NW
10. Chris Ngige Ministry of Labour and Employment Anambra SE
11. James Ocholi State, Min. of Labour and Employment Kogi NC
12. Mohammed Bello FCT Adamawa NE
13. Abdulrahman Danbazzau Ministry of Interior Kano NW
14. Udoma Udo Udoma Min. of Budget and National Planning Akwa Ibom SS
15. Zainab S. Ahmad State, Min. of Budget and National Planning Kaduna NW
16. Ibe Kachikwu State, Ministry of Petroleum Resources Delta SS
17. Babatunde Fashola, SAN Ministry of Power, Works and Housing Lagos SW
18. Mustapha Baba Shehuri State, Ministry of Power, Works and Housing Borno NE
19. Audu Ogbeh Ministry of Agric. and Rural Development Benue NC
20. Heineken Lokpobiri State, Min. of Agric. and Rural Development Bayelsa SS
21. Rotimi Amaechi Ministry of Transportation Rivers SS
22. Hadi Sirika State, Ministry of Transportation – Aviation Katsina NW
23. Isaac Adewole Ministry of Health Osun SW
24. Osagie Ehanire State, Ministry of Health Edo SS
25. Aisha Jumai Alhassan Ministry of Women Affairs Taraba NE
26. Usani Usani Uguru Ministry of Niger Delta Cross River SS
27. Claudius O. Daramola State, Ministry of Niger Delta Ondo SW
28. Adebayo Shittu Ministry of Communications Oyo SW
29. Lai Mohammed Ministry of Information Kwara NC
30. Amina Mohammed Ministry of Environment Gombe NE
31. Ibrahim Usman Jubril State, Ministry of Environment Nassarawa NC
32. Suleiman Adamu Ministry of Water Resources Zamfara NW
33. Solomon Dalong Ministry of Youth and Sports Plateau NC
34. Kayode Fayemi Ministry of Solid Minerals Ekiti SW
35. Abubakar Bawa Buari State, Ministry of Solid Minerals Niger NC
36. Ogbonnaya Onu Ministry of Science and Technology Ebonyi SE

Analysis of Ministers by Geopolitical Region


S/N Region Main Ministry (Count) State Ministry (Count) Total
1. North-Central (NC) 3 3 6
2. North-East (NE) 4 2 6
3. North-West (NW) 4 3 7
4. South-East (SE) 4 1 5
5. South-South (SS) 4* 2 6
6. South-West (SW) 5 1 6
  TOTAL 24 12  


This analysis shows the Southwest having the highest count of Main ministry representatives.

Cancelled Ministries

  1. Ministry of Aviation
  2. Ministry of Culture, Tourism and National Orientation
  3. Ministry of Housing and Urban Development
  4. Ministry of Police Affairs
  5. Ministry of Special Duties

Renamed/Merged Ministries

  1. Ministry of Labour and Productivity (now Ministry of Labour and Employment)
  2. Ministry of Power (now Ministry of Power, Works and Housing)
  3. Ministry of Works and Housing (now Ministry of Power, Works and Housing)
  4. Ministry of Industries (now Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment)
  5. Ministry of Trade and Investment (now Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment)
  6. Ministry of National Planning (now Ministry of Budget and National Planning)
Recent Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search